Tags

This weekend saw the beginner tournament in for the SCTS in which myself and 3 other club members took part. It was a good day in what should become a great run of events that I hope to be involved with and in fact I was part of the event team for the day. Now to the action.

First up my list. In Briefing: SCTS I said I had very little time to run lists for the tournament but as it was billed as a beginner event I was going to run a few things I was not familiar with, here it is.

JAPANESE SECTORIAL ARMY
──────────────────────────────────────────────────

GROUP 1 (Regular: 5/Irregular: 0):

KEISOTSU Combi Rifle+ Light Grenade Launcher / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 14)
KEISOTSU HMG / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 18)
KEISOTSU (Forward Observer) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (12)
KEISOTSU Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (9)
KEISOTSU Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (9)

GROUP 2 (Regular: 9/Irregular: 0):

DOMARU Chain Rifle, E/M Grenades / Pistol, E/M CCW. (27)
KEMPEI (Chain of Command) Boarding Shotgun / Pistol, CCW, Electric Pulse. (24)
TOKUSETSU KOHEI Engineer Combi Rifle, D-Charges / Pistol, Knife. (14)
ARAGOTO Spitfire / Pistol, Knife. (1.5 | 29)
ARAGOTO Combi Rifle + Light Shotgun / Pistol, Knife. (25)
RAIDEN (X Visor) Heavy Rocket Launcher / Pistol, Knife. (1.5 | 31)
NINJA Hacker (Hacking Device) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Shock CCW. (0.5 | 48)
RUI SHI Spitfire / Electric Pulse. (1 | 25)
PANGGULING (EVO Repeater) Electric Pulse. (0.5 | 13)

6 SWC | 298 Points
ARMY CODE: eNo9yrsRgDAMA9BprBrJMYTFqDw8scPRvDt95Ga6p51GOJiE2qvlb2BAqZbHOin9kzXsMBG1x+5UnT3jBUVlFhw=

 

I was using a fire team to get experience with them and used a Keisotsu link. In the practice games I did get I heavily loaded the team and it really under performed so for the final list I stripped the points out of it to use elsewhere, this meant should the team go down I would not be too hampered. I also put them in their own combat group to further mitigate any damage should they go down. I also to two Aragotos as I really like the models but struggle with Impetuous. This is where I put some of the fire team points as it was difficult to fit in good load outs. The Raiden was another new model so a must. The Ninja was a last minute change as I really had a problem with forward deployment in the practice games. Also with a lack of MSV and hard hitting units I was hoping the combat camo hacking would come in useful. The rest is filled out with a madatory Chain of Command, an EVO to aid the Ninja plus the ubiquitous Rui Shi.

Game 1 vs Military Orders and Nathan – Quadrant Control

Unfortunately after a long drive with very little sleep I forgot to take pictures for most of the day completely missing the first game. Nathan won the Initiative roll off and chose Initiative. For this event it was decided that the actual decision could be made after deployment. I chose a side and let him deploy. I chose the side because it had some good cover overlooking the sparse left hand side for my fire team while most of the right was covered for the Aragotos. He chose first turn and straight away set about his Classified on my near left side. He also did not push up much which meant that I could easily claim more quadrants. That storey continued as while he tore into the fire team up close I could over run him in that quadrant and move uncontested in to others. I did think he hung back too much with the heavier nights and by the time he did it was too late.

Result 10-1 win

Unbeknownst to me I was now in the lead with two club mates in second and third. So we lined up for round two

Game 2 vs A.S.S and James – Frontline

 The tables were little more sparse than we were used to so my deployment was quite cramped. I do think we tend to be too dense in our meta though this was more towards the other end of the spectrum than I anticipated, but it worked out quite nicely. Without knowing who would take first turn, which was my decision, we both set up defensively. My biggest problem was the deployment of the Ninja trying to second guess the route Achilles would take. In the end I went for the middle figuring it would give me a chance to move either way even though I thought the best route was on my right flank. This proved beneficial as Achilles moved right into his ZoC and got hacked twice, the second time being in ARO effectively shutting down his last turn. Games with James are usually tough affairs and with a lot at stake this was no exception with no quarter given. It was difficult to control the Aragoto and deal with the ODD but we whittled each other down and it came down to some tense moving at the end trying to decide where the points were situated. With the last turn I managed to take the far zone while I knew I would have to give up my near zone which was where Achilles was with the Ninja taking the middle.

Result 8-5 win

Game 3 vs Combined Army and John – Annihilation

I was told there was all to play for in the last game as I faced off against another club mate and his combined army. This time both knew what to expect and while his army was all revealed I knew what was coming and he knew what my camo markers were. I won the Initiative this time and chose to take first turn knowing I had to do some damage before the Charontid did. This game ended up being a steamroller affair as the Aragoto tore down my right flank and the fire team my left, both taking out Pretas before they could choke up the lanes with mines.

Things moved from bad to worse as Darutzi went down to AROs and the Charontid was flashed. I moved the Domaru into close combat with the Charontid not realising it had a mono weapon but thankfully it failed its em save and was immobilized so the Ninja could finish it off. The Ninja also made a last turn rambo to wipe out the CA.

result 9-2 (I’m unsure of Johns score for this game)

This result gave me the top score for the day. Surprising but earned as they were all tough games. Really happy for the day and looking forward to the next one now. It was good seeing some familiar faces including fellow blogger 2screens and a large number of his friends.

