Tags

Well the dust has settled on another ITS tournament and it has been an enjoyable day yet again. I managed to play a couple of new people, people I already new but have not played before, along with someone I have played several times before!

Army Lists

Here are the two army lists I took.

NOMADS
──────────────────────────────────────────────────

GROUP 1 (Regular: 10/Irregular: 0):

INTRUDER HMG, Grenades / Pistol, CCW. (1.5 | 44)
PROWLER Spitfire, D-Charges / Pistol, CCW. (2 | 37)
REVEREND CUSTODIER Hacker (Hacking Device Plus) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 36)
SPEKTR (Forward Observer) Combi Rifle + Light Shotgun, Antipersonnel Mines / Pistol, Knife. (36)
ZERO (Minelayer) Combi Rifle, Antipersonnel Mines / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 19)
ZERO (Minelayer) Combi Rifle, Antipersonnel Mines / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 19)
ZONDBOT Electric Pulse. (3)
WILDCAT Combi Rifle + Light Flamethrower, D-Charges / Pistol, Knife. (19)
MORAN (Forward Observer) Combi Rifle, CrazyKoalas (2) / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 24)
TOMCAT Doctor Combi Rifle + Light Flamethrower / Pistol, Knife. (22)
WILDCAT Combi Rifle + Light Flamethrower, D-Charges / Pistol, Knife. (19)

GROUP 2 (Regular: 0/Irregular: 3):

MORLOCK Chain Rifle, Smoke Grenades / Pistol, Shock CCW. (7)
MORLOCK Chain Rifle, Smoke Grenades / Pistol, Shock CCW. (7)
MORLOCK Chain Rifle, Smoke Grenades / Pistol, Shock CCW. (7)

5.5 SWC | 299 Points
ARMY CODE: eNpVyzEOwDAIA8DX4LGqSSDkY53y+EAzVJ1OtmWjiM4pdpkw0KDrj0PBxfslTnD0wjA+GsHCEVWOPGeCnS4nefoGDe8YDA==

This is basically an army that was suggested to me with a few minor tweaks. I changed around the Lt option and added in a second Combat Group of Morlocks. This is the list I used for the entire day, in a break from the norm where I feel I should use both lists during the day.

NOMADS
──────────────────────────────────────────────────

GROUP 1 (Regular: 10/Irregular: 0):

ALGUACIL Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (10)
ALGUACIL Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (1 | 10)
DAKTARI Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (14)
GECKO Mk12, Chain-colt, Blitzen / . (1.5 | 55)
GECKO PILOT Pistol, Knife.
INTRUDER HMG, Grenades / Pistol, CCW. (1.5 | 44)
REVEREND CUSTODIER Hacker (Hacking Device Plus) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 36)
SIN-EATER Mk12 / Pistol, CCW. (29)
SPEKTR (Forward Observer) Combi Rifle + Light Shotgun, Antipersonnel Mines / Pistol, Knife. (36)
TOMCAT Engineer Combi Rifle + Light Flamethrower, D-Charges / Pistol, Knife. (22)
ZERO (Minelayer) Combi Rifle, Antipersonnel Mines / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 19)
ZONDBOT Electric Pulse. (3)

GROUP 2 (Regular: 0/Irregular: 3):

MORLOCK Chain Rifle, Smoke Grenades / Pistol, Shock CCW. (7)
MORLOCK Chain Rifle, Smoke Grenades / Pistol, Shock CCW. (7)
MORLOCK Chain Rifle, Smoke Grenades / Pistol, Shock CCW. (7)

5 SWC | 299 Points
ARMY CODE: eNpVjMENwDAIA6ex/0BIw2J5dfgC6SeydMayhQugEXAIU68wkuYdbFHTZvPcQavV5Ki+Kc6nwv9g5UJvwx4foygXEA==

The second list was more or less the list I took to Ten Ton Tournie previously. This is basically because without much game time I had no ideas for lists.

Games

Game 1 Supplies vs Aleph 7-1

This is the board for the first game. I won the Lt roll an elected to go first setting up the minelayers to cover the left objective and the centre with the Moran also covering the centre. The Spektr was in Hidden Deployment ready to take the right hand objective. In my first turn too many orders were spent dislodging a Spitfire Deva in the opposing tower. The rest was spent moving to intercept Camo markers of a Naga near the central room and another enemy on the roof near the right hand objective and moving the Prowler to take out a TR bot in the back field. He moved to take the left objective losing some troops along the way. Turn two I moved to secure the central objective with the Moran revealing a Dasyus I believe who killed the Moran. I had to expend the Morlocks to blow the Mono mines leaving a route to the objective so it was getting a little hectic in there. Turn 3 I took out the Daleth Rebot with the objective on the left and also revealed the Spektr to take the right and with the final order managed to move the Custodier to take the central objective. At this point he was in Retreat and could not secure the final objective.

Game 2 Seize the Antennae vs ASA 10-1

This game I ended up going second and deployment was a little difficult. I ended up deploying one minelayer up on a roof to deter a group of Bagh-Mari on the gantry to my right and the other on the left to hinder the Regular link team. Again the Spektr was reading to take an objective near the middle along with the Moran with the HMG Intruder on a roof to the left. He moved hard down my right with combat REMs early and with the link team mid game doing some damage along the way. The Prowler did a good job of clearing the REMs out and the Intruder did some damage before being taken down. Turn two I took my objective with a Custodier and the central one with the Spektr. By this time the Link had moved to the midfield on the left taking out the Zero and a Morlock but losing one to a mine. His turn 3 and Retreat was a close thing but he took his objective but the Custodier and Spektr managed to finish of the Regulars in their assault on the central objective. My last turn and I only had two things to do. Try for the enemy objective with the Spektr who succeeded as most of the shots were long range. He finally died to a crit but was at the objective and managed to flip the switch with his final moments. The last thing was run on with a Tomcat doctor to try Experimental Drug.

Game 3 Quad Control vs CA 0-9

By this time things were getting a little fuzzy so yet again there are no pictures for the final game. I was playing my nemesis for the top spot and I hope I gave him a tough game although the scoreline would suggest not. I feel I played well in game but choosing deployment was probably a mistake. I won the roll and took deployment as I felt that most people would be inclined to take first turn having been made to set up first. Sometimes going second and deploying second means you opponent can set up to best advantage to maximise first turn efficiency. In hindsight I should have taken second turn and hoped to weather the storm with my camo deployment. But I don’t usually play with so many camo markers which meant this was a new game plan for me. My opponent basically did this with TO deployment and took every turn, I played what was on the board well I feel but each turn being able to reveal another TO marker and take whichever quadrant he wanted was massive. I think I maybe pushed the Prowler up to far as he was lost early but really it probably would not have made much difference. The only other thing is having not played against them in this situation much it completely slipped my mind Shasvasti count even unconscious. I could have drawn turn two were it not for that.

Conclusion

The first thing to take away is if I want to make these AARs any good I need to take more pictures and preferably make some notes!

Terrain being such a big part of Infinity I’ll just make a quick comment on the days tables. I think the UK meta still boarders on the dense side but the tables today were reasonably good with only the last table being overly crowded. There is still an issue regarding low cover but I’m sympathetic to those issues. Overall the terrain was good in my opinion.

Overall I’ve got to be happy with 2nd place although it is a bit disappointing to be in the running yet again only to be ‘Robin’d’. But I think I played well all day and with a list that I neither wrote nor played at all beforehand. Being totally up front I think I’ve done enough this year to establish myself as a good player so I should feel good about myself, even if I’m not quite ‘top tier’.

On a personal note I think I did manage to take a step back from taking things too seriously. Things did get a bit tense at the end but I think I can be forgiven that as I was playing a very good player for the top spot, but over all I was much more relaxed about the day and I think I was better off for it.

Finally thanks to all involved. Simon for running it. Joe, Karl and Robin for the games and everyone that came along to make it a grand day.

