Tags

I’m back from my first event of the year and the first using the new N3 rules.  It was a good day hosted at Fistful of Dice and TO’d by Nicho. A good day again with three great games that were all tightly contested and really hammered home the new edition. I had offered terrain support and as I had just acquired more terrain was also looking forward to see it on the table. With that in mind I arrived a little early to set up a table. Here is the table I provided.

Along with the other tables.

This inevitably led to the terrain density discussion which didn’t last as long as expected this time! The two tables I played on I found to be acceptable, but one of them was mine. There is always the struggle with scatter terrain though. I do feel that the meta is shifting away from super dense tables allowing for use of ranges such as improved Sniper Rifle range, which without those fire lanes would make the range buff over HMGs pointless. They were powerful but could not see giant swathes of the battlefield so not all dominating. I know there is still the group that believe as soon as you say don’t make the table dense they think that means the table should be a flat plain but I digress. On to the event.

Army Lists

The event was 200 point dual lists and when it was announced only the book profiles were released. In my Briefing post I go through some thought processes and here are the final lists of what I took.

Alpha Team

Interventor Lt
Moderator
Daktari
Zondbot
Morlock
Transductor
Moran FO
Zero Hacker
Tomcat Engineer
Intruder HMG
Hellcat Spitfire

Bravo Team

Interventor Lt
Moderator
Daktari
Clockmaker
Zondbot
Transductor
Morlock
Grenzer MSR
Zero FO
Intruder HMG
Hellcat Paramedic

Games

Game 1 Supplies vs Haqq (Jonny) 7-2 Win

First game was on the table I set up and I won the Initiative roll and took first turn. Using alpha team I set up the Moran to cover the centre objective, the Zero Hacker the right which left the Tomcat for the left, who would hopefully be able to retreat to near the enemy HVT to claim a Classified at the end. Losing two orders from the first turn was quite debilitating and I could not see a good use of coordinated orders to regain mobility. So I tried to cull his order pool. This started well taking out the HMG bot, which was the only enemy long range, but stalled when my Hellcat was taken out in ARO. There was a cagey play around the objective between the Zero and a Hunzakut FO which the Zero eventually can out on top. The Moran pretty safely kept the center objective and the Tomcat came on for the left but took too many attempts to take the objective to return for the HVT and as both my Classifieds involved the HVT I could score either of them. The Tomcat was eventually taken down and the Zero took his objective in one attempt with his Irregular order after being Isolated with a Jammer. We only got two turns and the second was not optimal as we knew we would not get a third but a good result.

Game 2 Annihilation vs CA (James) 6-2 Win

Again I won the Initiative and took first turn losing two orders for it. I used Alpha team again and after set up I knew if I could take down the opposing HMG in a roof battle I could attack the other line troops deployed up there with almost impunity.

This did not go well expending multiple orders and seeing many successful ARM rolls my first turn was completely spent. But the HMG was taken down. He immediately  used Automedikit to revive and in two shots killed the Intruder. Here I wasn’t sure how I could attack the emplacement without a handful of AROs as the flank with the best approach vector was cover by Pretas and a Legates. He discovered my Zero Hacker and tried to Sucker Punch him with the Legates who was Immobilized for his efforts, which left the flank open for the Hellcat but by that time could do little damage although did manage to Secure the HVT. My other Classified was failed as I attempted to Sabotage a building on my right but he had pushed up and I didn’t have enough orders to attack and attempt but was critted in ARO anyway. Unfortunately after some lengthy LoF discussions my opponent did got get his last turn.

Game 3 Seize the Antennae vs Bakunin (Shaun) 9-0 Win

By this time some of the other guys had taken some good scores so half the field could have taken it in the end but I was on top table against Nomads. He won Initiative and took first turn which I was happy with as it meant I could take the better deployment zone and last turn for switch flipping. Using Bravo team I set up the Intruder and Grenzer for ARO and everyone else in defensive positions. The Grenzer was killed quickly by a Zero but the Intruder was untouched and did some damaged my turn killing his Lt would was deployed in the open. Turn two I managed to take all three objectives with the Zero, Daktari and dropping the Hellcat behind who took the far objective. Using command tokens for the first time I had denied two orders first turn and used a coordinated suppression fire but two were easily killed although I missed the -3 to hit a suppressor on the first engagement which would have made a difference. He snatched the far objective with his Custodier in his last turn and I entered turn three two points out of retreat and had just enough orders to move the Zero to retake it after a lucky crit on the Prowler in a covering position at range by the Interventor.

Conclusion

A good day with three close games taking good results from each. My last opponent I think was too blood thirsty as he nearly put me into retreat with little concern for the objectives, a theme for him judging by his VP count. All good and tough games with a fair amount of looking in the book but the new edition is well under my belt now. It was a pretty relaxed day overall which is great for the enjoyment of things. Happy to take the W at the end for my second in 2014. I did swap the ABH with the winner of the painting comp who got the Magno Warcor.

Conclusion

Edit: This is an edit so most people probably wont read it but I’m going to add it for completion.

The big thing I took away from today was Command tokens. Their use will be crucial when things really hot up. N3 is still new so I’m still getting to grips with new things so many of the details were overlooked in favour of a learning experience.

Terrain as ever was under scrutiny and something I’m constantly looking at ahead of the TCO.

I hope the AARs are improving as I took some notes this time but it is difficult as I am mindful not to be wasting time in game.

Thanks to Fistful of Dice and Andy (Nicho) for hosting and Jonny, James and Shaun for three hard fought games.

