Tags

This is my new hobby thoughts tag, something to differentiate from games and theory where I talk about more practical gaming aspects. Although Batreps and such are a big part of my blog I have thrown in a few posts which I hope have given some food for thought. This segment is more about my own state of mind. Another attempt to ‘improve’ my blog.

This time I’m going to talk about Blood Bowl. I feel that I am coming to the end of my Blood Bowl career. I’ve played in online leagues and TT tournies a plenty. over the last few years but I just don’t have much love for the game any more. This is a bit of a shame as it was one of my most beloved games for some years, second only to Necromunda. I don’t do too bad so it’s not just sour grapes. I’ve sustained multiple seasons in the Premier league in UKBBL and won my Division in OCC last season, not for the first time. I don’t want to get into the age old argument of power in BB but I certainly feel that it does not reward ball play enough and games are won far too often due to casualty rates. This is something that has grated before but now I just can’t ignore.

I feel that some of that has to do with the fact that I have moved on from GW systems and have seen what is really possible with gaming these days. The D6 is just too limiting. It shows as BB is an old game and suffers for it. Another example is Necromunda, a game that I believe would look more like Infinity if it was developed today. These factors bring me to the conclusion that I just cannot forgive poor game systems just because they have awesome background, something that has always been one of the most important factors in gaming for me. On e reason why I have turned to Conquest to get my 40K fix (and hope to find local players).

The final part is time. I just don’t have the time any more to spread around and while I may have continued in the past I find that I would rather spend what little game time I have on systems that are more to my taste. After all, I can get a dose of background via novels if needed.

Either way I thought this worthy of a post I can foresee my last BB game in the near future after more than 2 decades of play.

